Canaan Conservation Commission

November 7, 2016

Attendees: Bill Chabot, Mike Mezzacapo, Ashley Wojnarowski, Len Reitsma, Noel Everts, Alice Schori, Elizabeth Chabot, Dave McAlister

Minutes ~September

Len Moved to accept the minutes as presented, Dave seconded. All approved

Cell Tower

- Original site was in view of the Canaan Street Beach. Current location proposed is on Grist Mill Road. The new location will still cover the town, which is the main objective, but won't cover North Canaan towards Lyme. It will cover part of 118 and Grafton.
- Verizon proposed the sites, based on coverage and access
- Bill moved that we issue a letter of support for the tower to the Selectboard. Ashley seconded. Motion passed unanimously
- Bill will write the letter.

MWCC and Bird in Hand

- The MWCC failed to raise enough money to purchase the Bird in Hand property.
- Alice made a motion that we request our donation back from the MWCC, Len seconded. Motion passed unanimously.

Town Forest

- The new sign has been installed. Mike added the maps, copies of the Covenants and Audubon certification information
- Len said the Hut's journal reflects visitors that hiked into the forest because of the new sign
- Canaan Hardware donated the plexiglass for the project.
- Dave noted that the new sign look great!
- The green trail needs to be re-marked but it can wait until spring. Mike also investigating alternative trail markers.

Bird in Hand

- The annual monitoring of the property is due. A majority of the property has been walked over the course of the year except one small section. Scheduled for Sunday the 18th at 9:00. The public to be invited.
- Bird in hand will presumably be going back up for auction. We discussed talking to the state about updating the easement and adding more protections due to past history.

Motion to adjourn made by Dave, seconded by Len Next meeting to be held on December 5, 2016 at the Senior Center

Conservation Commission Members

Full-Time:

Bill Chabot: Chair, 3 year term, ending April 30, 2018

Elizabeth Chabot: Secretary, 3 year term, ending April 30, 2019

Len Reitsma: 3 year term, ending August 31, 2019 Mike Mezzacapo: 3 year term, ending Oct 31, 2017

Ashley Wojnarowski: 3 year term, ending Oct 31, 2017

Alternates:

Alice Schori Noel Everts