Canaan Conservation Commission

February 6, 2017

Attendees: Bill Chabot, Mike Mezzacapo, Ashley Wojnarowski, Len Reitsma, Noel Everts, Elizabeth

Chabot, Dave McAlister

Absent: Alice Schori

Minutes ~August

Mike Moved to accept the minutes as presented, Dave seconded. All approved

Minutes ~November

Dave Moved to accept the minutes as presented, Len seconded. All approved

Audubon Certification

- Signage information required for trees and plants. Can likely order tags. Len volunteered to assist Mike. All other tasks in our assessment have been completed
- Will require a third party to verify that the work has been done
- Target to submit final paperwork by end of April.

New Hampshire Association of Conservation Commissions

- NH Association of Conservation Commissions dues are due April 1st. This year they are \$296
- Bill made a motion to continue our membership, Elizabeth seconded, motion passed unanimously.

Saving Special Spaces

• April 8th. Bill plans to attend. Let him know if you wish to participate. More details to come

Earth Day

- Clean up scheduled for April 29th. Meet at the beach at 8:00. Clean up until noon
- Bill will advise Sharon so it can be posted.

Bird in Hand

- Travis and Joanna Johnson have purchased the B-I-H property. The commission looks forward to meeting them.
- We need to get their address to advise them of the easement restrictions. The state would also like to send some information as well.

Connecticut River Watershed Council (CRWC)

- Heavily involved with any Dam proposals on the river
- CRWC does a significant amount of River clean up Annually
- CRCW supports a variety of projects including bank erosion mitigation, invasive species combat
- Dave moved that the CCC donate \$100 to the CRWC towards the annual membership. Mike seconded. The motion passed unanimously

Motion to adjourn made by Elizabeth, seconded by Len

Next meeting to be held on March 6, 2017 at the Senior Center

Respectfully submitted by Elizabeth Chabot

Conservation Commission Members

Full-Time:

Bill Chabot: Chair, 3 year term,

ending April 30, 2018

Elizabeth Chabot: Secretary, 3 year term,

ending April 30, 2019

Len Reitsma: 3 year term, ending August 31, 2019

Mike Mezzacapo: 3 year term,

ending Oct 31, 2017

Ashley Wojnarowski: 3 year term,

ending Oct 31, 2017

Alternates:

Alice Schori Noel Everts

Select board Representative

Dave McAlister