Canaan Conservation Commission

March 5, 2018

Attendees: Bill Chabot, Len Reitsma, Noel Everts, Alice Schori, Dave McAlister, Elizabeth Chabot

Minutes ~December The minutes were reviewed Alice moved that they be accepted as presented, Dave seconded. The motion passed.

Special Guest Presentations

Jim Frohn (UNH Cooperative Extension) is conducting a survey of towns owning property to classify what kind of usage or governance is on each parcel. He reviewed both the Town Forest and the Tansey Lot with the commission.

He also discussed walking the Town Forest with us and making some management recommendations. We might want to consider some sustainable logging to promote better health for the forest, as well as educate the public how logging can be a critical element to forest management. Jim and Len will schedule some time together.

Ken Milke

Ken is proposing to rebuild several bridges along a class 6 road and is looking for funding. This road is used by snowmobilers and could connect some of the hiking trails. The bridges proposed are fairly wide due to a desire to be able to bring a full sized snow groomer over them.

The commission suggested that Ken research who the stake holders are and what permissions would be needed in order to build these bridges. Once this is better understood, we would be happy to rereview his proposal.

Conservation Commission Membership

- The Commission is still short 2 members. It is posted on the town website
- Bill's term expires in April.

Misc

- Saturday April 7 is the annual Saving Special Places conference. Please advise Bill if you want to go.
- Sunday April 22nd: Annual Roadside Clean up. Meet at the beach by 9:00am. Gloves and bags to be provided.

Motion to adjourn made by Dave, seconded by Elizabeth

Next meeting to be held on April 2, 2018 at the Senior Center

Respectfully submitted by Elizabeth Chabot

Conservation Commission Members

Full-Time:

Bill Chabot: Chair, 3 year term, ending April 30, 2018

Elizabeth Chabot: Secretary, 3 year term, ending April 30, 2019

Len Reitsma: 3 year term, ending August 31, 2019

AVAILABLE: Two 3 year terms

Alternates:

Alice Schori Noel Everts

Select board Representative Dave McAlister