Canaan Conservation Commission

Minutes

January 6, 2020

Attendees: Bill Chabot, Elizabeth Chabot, Noel Everts, Len Reitsma, Alice Schori

Absent: Dave McAlister

Minutes

November minutes were reviewed. Len moved to approve the minutes as presented, Alice seconded. Motion passed.

There was no meeting in December.

Bird in Hand

The Annual Bird-in-Hand parcel has been completed. All is in good order.

Noel spent time cleaning up trails around the Nature Hut. Some of the trails could use some re-marking.

Summer presentation

The Conservation Commission plans to host another talk this August. We're tentatively thinking the first Thursday in August. Len had an idea for a speaker and will reach out.

The Kate Brooks Tree

Targeting April 18th providing the weather is good. 1pm. More details to follow.

Earth Day Cleanup

April 18th, meet at the beach at 8:30 for bag distribution.

Misc

- (This is still an open item.) Last meeting, Dave mentioned that The Canaan recreation department is interested in taking some kids on the trails in the Town Forest and they would be in contact with Bill or Len. Neither one of them has been contacted to-date. Dave said he'd follow up with Chelsea Martin.
- Dues for the NH Association of Conservation Commissions are due- \$275 per year
 - Bill moved we support the NHACC, Len seconded, motion passed. Bill will arrange payment.
- January 26th is the MWCC walkabout in the Mascoma State Forest. It consists of 219 acres with skid trails. Bill will scout out an entrance and determine if this is a good place to walkabout or not.
- BMCA/UVLT hike is scheduled for February 8. The plan is to start at the town forest and bushwhack to the BPNA. After a return journey, snacks will be served at the hut. Time TBD
- February 22nd is the annual BPNA snowshoe
- It has been noted that our roadcrew has some practices that are not helping curtail the spread of some invasives, particularly knotweed. Bill will investigate what DES might have posted and will report back. Possibly the CCC can work with

Commission Members

Bill Chabot: Chair, 3 year term ending April 30, 2021

Len Reitsma: 3 year term ending August 31, 2022

Elizabeth Chabot: Secretary, 3 year term ending April 30, 2022

Two open seats

Alternates:

Alice Schori

Noel Everts

Selectboard Representative:

Dave McAlister

the road crew.

Motion to adjourn made by Len, seconded by Bill
Next Meeting is scheduled for February 3, 2020
Respectfully submitted by Elizabeth Chabot